Lesson at the baseball diamond

Baseball diamond

Know your opponent.  Keep your eyes on the ball.  Aim high; stay grounded.  FOCUS on the GAME.  Above all else, block out the distractions.

I am by no means any sort of sports commentator; as a matter of fact, I consider myself to not really enjoy sports that much at all.  Well, okay, at least that is what I tell my family.  The truth is, I am not a fan of the egos and machismo that usually kind of hovers over sports (especially contact sports) professionals like a halo around the head of a cherub.  However, there is a certain aspect of the nature of competition that I really do enjoy.  Maybe it’s the fight within.  Maybe it’s the passion and love for the game.  Maybe it’s the desire to win.  Whatever it is, I find a great deal of inspiration right in that very place where underdogs succeed, and the overconfident scuttle home with no trophy.

I don’t normally watch baseball as a rule.  Perhaps because I never understood it.  But at my son’s away game today, the very lessons those players are taught in order to win the game are the same ones I learned today and took away for myself.

I’m not a believer of philosophy–it never did anything for me.  But I am a firm believer in encouraging oneself, and encouraging others.  We all need it from time to time, regardless of who we are, the title or clout we hold, or our net worth according to the bank.  That being said, I am reminded from that game (which our team shamelessly lost, but we gave it all we had!) that regardless of my goals or plans, there will be distractions and I will fall short.  But at the end of the day, I know that God is for me, and through Him, I can do anything.

Knowing this, I can and am moving forward.

KNOW YOUR OPPONENT

KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE BALL

AIM HIGH, STAY GROUNDED

FOCUS ON THE GAME

NO DISTRACTIONS

Be blessed, friends…

About GrowEvolveChange

Blogger, freelance photographer, praise dancer, and Christian songwriter. Leading others to Christ through a unique, diverse ministry - experiencing God's blessings and sharing them along the way. "Everything before now was just practice. Now is the time to reap and harvest." -GrownLovedChanged "Come out of where you are, and pour into someone else today." -GLC
This entry was posted in Faith, Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or suggestions for this blog?

