The power (or not) of suggestion…

“The power of suggestion….” 

Such an interesting term.  As if the mere concept of simply stating one’s opinion or random thoughts could influence how someone responds to something else.  Well, it actually does do just that.

Ever notice how your totally sold-out opinion on how delicious butter-pecan ice cream is suddenly becomes not so fanatic when a nay-sayer verbalizes how grotesque the process is by which your favorite ice cream is made?  Or perhaps those neon orange stilettos you love so much suddenly become an eye sore once your friends chime in about how horrible they look on you?

What is even more interesting is how when we think of the term “power of suggestion”, we automatically associate negative thoughts or ideas with it.

But I challenge myself today.  To change my perspective.  Rather than allow another’s opinion to negatively influence my own thoughts, ideas, or notions, I’m taking action to combat them with my own.  Totally embracing my anti-monotonous nature, I’m taking it a step further and planting my own seeds of suggesting good–and watching what happens.   🙂

So the next time you overhear me saying something positive or pleasant about something or someone who might not ordinarily get that type of feedback, it’s because I’m doing it purposely.  Objective: Challenge myself, and challenge you.

 

Be blessed, friends…

 

About GrowEvolveChange

Blogger, freelance photographer, praise dancer, and Christian songwriter. Leading others to Christ through a unique, diverse ministry - experiencing God's blessings and sharing them along the way. "Everything before now was just practice. Now is the time to reap and harvest." -GrownLovedChanged "Come out of where you are, and pour into someone else today." -GLC
This entry was posted in Faith, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or suggestions for this blog?

