A Day to Remember…

I don’t know how I’ve ever viewed irony; as I haven’t really ever taken the time to think about it.

But I do believe that God allows things to happen for a reason.

On this day exactly four years ago to the day (which actually happened to be Memorial Day), my kids and I attended a family reunion for my dad’s side of the family that we had never met before.  Since my dad passed when I was 11 years old, this was, for me, an opportunity of a lifetime. The trip up the east coast was well worth it, and something that I will always reflect on as one that brought me great joy.

Today, I found myself in a very similar emotional place. I “re-joiced”, as in I experienced that same pure and unfiltered freedom, liberty, and joy that I felt that day four years ago with the family that was always there – even though I didn’t know them.

Different experience, same emotion.

Memorial Day now takes on a whole new meaning in my heart and in my mind.  I will always pay homage to and respect our country’s finest soldiers for their courage and bravery.  I will also always remember the long hard fight that it took for me to get to the top of this mountain.

But at least while I’m here I can breathe for a moment.  Take in the scenery.  And thank God for His grace…

….before I start climbing down the other side.

 

Today, I will remember.

About GrowEvolveChange

Blogger, freelance photographer, praise dancer, and Christian songwriter. Leading others to Christ through a unique, diverse ministry - experiencing God's blessings and sharing them along the way. "Everything before now was just practice. Now is the time to reap and harvest." -GrownLovedChanged "Come out of where you are, and pour into someone else today." -GLC
This entry was posted in Healing progress, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or suggestions for this blog?

