“Nobody here but us old folks…”

When I hear someone make a statement like that, especially of the older generation, my heart sinks into the pit of my stomach for a moment. I’m almost compelled to ask the question, “And what exactly does that mean?” For you see, the “old folks” are the ones that we need so much, and we don’t even realize or consider why.

Momma and Daddy teach us from the beginning our ABC’s and how to tie our shoes, but Grandma and Grandpa teach us to appreciate that because their own parents couldn’t read and didn’t even own shoes.

Miss Johnson in science class teaches us about frogs and mold, but great-aunt Sarah tells of how her granddaddy wasn’t even allowed down by the schoolhouse to get an education.

The local drug store promises I’ll be in and out under an hour, but Senor Alvarez who owns the bodega down the way tells anyone who’ll listen about how he takes his time (on purpose) grinding corn meal to prepare his daily fare for the neighborhood customers.

In a day and time when we all go so fast and are always on the move, I can’t help but wonder if our older generation(s) feel left out of things.  Their knowledge and wisdom and kind words are invaluable.  Sometimes that’s just what we need to soothe or ease the heart aches of life. So often, just when I think I am the only one to ever go through something, I can always count on my grandmother to give me some life lesson or pearl of wisdom to encourage me to keep going.

And she’s not the only one. God has blessed me with some pretty awesome seniors in my life; each of whom are special in their own right.

Each has a story. Each has a contribution. Each has a lesson to teach in the subject of life. They’ve already endured some of the things that I’m still going through, and if I’m going to make it, I need their prayers and wisdom. (A slice of grandma’s pumpkin pie along the way doesn’t hurt, either…:-) )

Here’s to my senior-friends today, whom I love and appreciate so much.  I pray God’s special blessings on each of you; for your worth is more than we give you credit for!

In love,

GrowEvolveChange

This post is dedicated to my own grandmother, Doris; my late great-grandmother, Elizabeth, and my senior-friends and “adopted” grandparents: Becky, Sue, Fred, Jean, Ellie Mae and Noelina. True gems you all are!

About GrowEvolveChange

Blogger, freelance photographer, praise dancer, and Christian songwriter. Leading others to Christ through a unique, diverse ministry - experiencing God's blessings and sharing them along the way. "Everything before now was just practice. Now is the time to reap and harvest." -GrownLovedChanged "Come out of where you are, and pour into someone else today." -GLC
This entry was posted in Love, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or suggestions for this blog?

